Summer super sludge: blackberry+nectarine green smoothie recipe

I first got turned onto green smoothies when the Eat to Live program briefly swept an internet message board I frequented. Although I never did make it through the strict 6-week introductory phase (oops…), I did become a convert to the green smoothie, and for a while I was drinking one for breakfast pretty much every morning.
 
IMG_2990
 
These days, I’ll often go for a more solid breakfast, but I still love to mix up a smoothie on my days off, or if I’m especially on top of things, I might even remember to put one together at night to pack into work the next morning. With berries and stone fruit both in season right now, this smoothie recipe is perfect for summer.

 
IMG_2977
 
A recipe posted over at Healthful Pursuit gave me the idea of adding some cucumber into the mix, and I was really pleased with the results. It adds a nice “lightness” and the flavor is quite subtle.
 
IMG_2995
 
Super Summer Smoothie
Makes about 2 cups

Ingredients
3 c. spinach, chopped
1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk
3/4 c. nectarine, roughly chopped
1/2 c. blackberries
1/2 c. cucumber, roughly chopped
1 tbsp protein powder (I use Nutiva Hemp powder)
a few drops vanilla esssence

Place all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor or blender in the order written. Blend for 30 seconds or so. Pour into a glass and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

