Recipe lust: Snacks, Salads, and Sweets

Happy Saturday! This morning was one of our batch cook days (more on that on Monday), so I’ve been up all morning filling the fridge and freezer with good things for the next month or two. One of the nice things about batch cooking is that it makes cooking on other weekends more relaxed–I feel a lot freer to experiment with new recipes or ideas knowing that the basic stuff is taken care of. When it’s not a batch weekend, I usually like to make a recipe that we wouldn’t do during a batch cook (because it won’t freeze well), or a treat/dessert for us to enjoy over the coming week. Right now I’m already thinking about some new things I’d like to try, here are the five at the top of my list:

Cheese crackers from Health-bent, which is also making me think I need to get my hands on a copy of Primal Cravings
Gwyneth Paltrow’s (don’t judge me) pub fries look ridiculously labor intensive, but maybe worth it…
We just got in a huge bag of quinoa and this quinoa salad with peas, favas, and feta from Cannelle et Vanille looks like a good way to use some of it up
Continuing the quinoa love, this double broccoli quinoa from 101 cookbooks has the genius idea of making a broccoli pesto–I think this is going to be making an appearance in my packed lunches very soon.
And of course, after all that quinoa and vegetables, I’m going to need dessert, like a flourless chocolate hazelnut cake.

 
I also like to keep track of new recipes or inspiration using my Pinterest board–want to be friends?

Leave a Reply

