celebrating sunshine

IMG_3091
 
Living in the Bay Area, summers can be a little…un-summery. This past week has been a case in point, with cool temperatures and even morning drizzle (er, “heavy fog”). I’ve been wearing my wool tights way too often for August.
 
But, yesterday afternoon things started to really feel like summer again. My walk home was sunny, I took off my cardigan and my scarf, and I could just feel the vitamin D soaking on in. I felt so summered up, I was even inspired to depart from my usual weekday oatmeal and whip up a smoothie to pack for my Friday morning breakfast.
 
IMG_3078
 
It’s getting towards the end of the week, so our fruit selection is a little sparse. This afternoon I’ll hit up the market after work and replenish. But for this morning, these odds and ends of the fruit bowl smoothie really hit the spot. Instead of almond milk, I used a fruity herbal tea as the liquid to get a bit of that multi-fruit taste. And, because I liked it so much last week, I threw in a bit of cucumber again. Still love it. If you are looking for a light breakfast or snack to throw together in a hurry, why not give this one a try?
 
The simplest summer smoothie
3 c. spinach
1 c. fruit flavored herbal tea (I used Bigelow’s Cranberry and Apple)
1/2 c. chopped cucumber
10 green grapes
1 nectarine, pitted and roughly chopped
1 tbsp hemp protein powder (I used Nutiva Organic hemp protein powder)

Leave a Reply

