Recipe: Double chocolate cake in a cup (gluten/grain free)

microwave chocolate cake with coconut ganache frosting
Oh, hello. What’s this?
 
I realized last week that although this blog is called Chocolate & Vegetables, I haven’t done a single post about chocolate yet. Unbelievable. First, I would like to clarify that the absence of chocolate on the blog does not mean I dislike or that I don’t eat chocolate. I eat an embarrassing amount of it (and not always of the highest quality, as the crumpled M&M’s wrapper in the back pocket of my backpack is currently attesting).
 
Next, I would like to rectify this oversight with a chocolate recipe! Chocolate cake, specifically. Gluten/grain free chocolate cake, even more specifically. That can be cooked in a minute or less in the microwave.
 
The cake in a cup phenomenon is not new, but of course I wanted something with a lot less sugar than most recipes seem to call for. I had just gotten my hands on a bag of coconut flour, so it seemed like a good time to test that out, too. This recipe is very low in sugar and very chocolatey: if you sometimes find yourself thinking that the 72% dark chocolate that’s commonly available is too sweet, this cake is for you.
 
For an extra rich option, add a little coconut chocolate ganache for frosting.
 
IMG_3197
A few of the tasty ingredients
 
Double Chocolate Cake in a Cup
 
Ingredients
 
0.43 oz 72% dark chocolate (0.43 oz is equivalent to one square of a Trader Joe’s pound plus bar. If you don’t have a TJ’s, half an ounce of dark baking chocolate will also work. Your cake will just be even more chocolatey. The horror.)
2 tbsp coconut cream (I get mine at Trader Joe’s)
1 tbsp butter
1 egg
drop vanilla extract
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp coconut flour (I used Let’s Do…Organic coconut flour)
 
For coconut chocolate ganache:
1 tbsp coconut cream
0.43 oz 72% dark chocolate
 
Method
1. In a mug that holds at least 8 oz., melt together butter and chocolate using the microwave. I found that microwaving on high for 1 minute and then stirring to finish melting the chocolate worked best.
 
2. Stir coconut cream into mixture.
 
3. Add egg and beat with a fork for ~1 minute.
 
4. Add coconut flour, stir to combine.
 
5. Add cocoa powder, stir until until mixture is smooth and free of lumps.
 
6. Microwave on high for 45 seconds to 1 minute. It is better to under than to overcook, so if in doubt, stop.
 
7. If making ganache, melt chocolate (I found 1 minute at 50% power in the microwave to work best), then stir in coconut cream until mixture is thoroughly combined. Slide the cake out of the cup and frost it. Or, leave the cake in the mug and add an extra teaspoon of coconut cream to the ganache. Poke holes in the cake and pour ganache over the top.
 
However you choose to finish it off, I found the cake is best if enjoyed with a cold glass of almond milk:
 
IMG_3231
Ahhhhhh

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Double chocolate cake in a cup (gluten/grain free)

    1. Yes, they’ve both gotten pretty big here in the US thanks to the popularity of the paleo diet. While I don’t follow that diet myself (too much meat!) I do still enjoy experimenting with some of the more unusual ingredients that it has helped to bring to light. Coconut flour is much lower in simple carbohydrate than most other wheat flour alternatives, plus it is naturally a little bit sweet, which is nice for dessert-type baked goods (not sure how it would work for something more savory). Unfortunately it is also kind of pricey so I think I’ll be rationing my supply out carefully!

Leave a Reply

