recipe love: time for soup

DSCF7295
More soup dinners, coming this way

Fall (or autumn, if you’re outside the US) starts this weekend (if you’re still in the northern hemisphere), and I’ve already got fall food on the brain. Our climate doesn’t have the sharp delineation of seasons that you find in some parts of the country, so I I never completely put fall and winter foods away, but there is still a shift as we go into real fall. With the days getting shorter and cooler, coming home to a warm bowl of soup in the evenings is starting to sound like a pretty good way to wind down the day. I’ve been compiling ideas and recipes to try, and wanted to share a few.

One of my favorite comfort soups is a simple tomato. I’ll admit I usually go for ease and use canned tomatos in my soup, but I’m seriously tempted by this recipe for roasted tomato soup with whipped burrata chees and basil infused olive oil from Pat’s Kitchen, which calls for roasting two pounds of roasted tomatoes. Looks like a great grown up take on the childhood classic.

For a soup that really screams fall though, I’ll always go for a nice butternut squash. The variations are seemingly endless. Go traditional, or add coconut milk and ginger for something reminiscent of southeast Asia. This is a soup I always reserve for fall and winter because a) there is a crazy differential in the price of butternut between spring/summer and fall/winter, and b) I can finally stand to have the oven on for a while and roast the squash before souping, if I so desire. I’ll make sure to share my own standard recipe for butternut squash soup soon, but in the meantime, I’m drooling over this white bean and butternut squash soup from Brussels Sprouts for Breakfast (I love chucking white beans into my pureed soups, it’s a great way to add a little protein and make them more filling).

I also like to have some of what I think of “get well” soups on hand for days when I’m fighting a cold or feeling under the weather. For me, these kinds of soups usually have a clear broth base of some sort, and a mix of light, healthy seasonings and ingredients. One that looks like it will really fit the bill is this ginger noodle soup from Love and Lemons, made super light by the use of shirataki instead of rice noodles. (FYI, if you’re going to make a batch of this to freeze, be warned that the freezer does weird stuff to shirataki noodles. I would make the soup sans noodles, freeze, then thaw and simmer the soup + noodles together on the stove for a few minutes before serving). And for days when I’m so under the weather that even defrosting soup is too much work, this winter I think I’m finally going to get back into the miso game, which I’ve been out of since (gasp!) high school. I’ll be referring to this great compilation of 54 miso soup combinations over on the Japanese Food Report to pull together some quick and easy bowls that scream “health”.

Of course, if you’re still hanging onto summer with a death grip, cold soup might be more your thing. I’m sure we’re still due for one last summer heatwave, and I have this chilled avocado soup from Choosing Raw (via Food52) bookmarked for the occasion.

Leave a Reply

