Collard wraps with raw parsnip tabbouleh

Hello all, happy (just barely) Monday! I’m just back from a too-short camping weekend. We spent a couple of days up at Castle Crags park and it was such a great time. It was so warm and despite the drought, still really green (thanks to all the conifers), a nice break from the brown that is speedily dominating the hills of the bay area. Normally when we camp we do backpacking or try for a hike-in site, but this time we just went with full-on car camping. It totally took me back to car camping weekends on the east coast growing up (but with fewer bugs and much less humidity). The campground was fairly full, but still quiet and there was a decent amount of space between sites–I would definitely go again. I’m super sore today from all the hiking we did–this evening I was supposed to have the first “real” training run for a half-marathon I signed up for (my first! I figure if I mention it publicly it’ll give me some extra motivation to stick with the training…) but I was so sore when I got home this evening I made the executive decision to move things around and declare today a rest day. My calves are thanking me!

With all the warm summery weather lately, I’m craving more cool dishes with minimal cooking. This parsnip tabbouleh fits the bill perfectly and I’ve made it several times in recent weeks. Parsnip is usually more of a fall and winter vegetable for me, but I’m really enjoying it in this raw summer iteration. Wrapped up in collard greens with a side of hummus for dipping, it’s a great packed lunch for enjoying at the little outdoor plaza near my office. The bitter greens and sweet parsnip are a perfect balance to each other. I’ll add my current lunch mainstays of a boiled egg and a piece of fruit for a solid meal that keeps me going until dinnertime.

If filling and rolling the wraps is too fiddly for you, the tabbouleh is great on it’s own, or you can add collards in a less fussy manner by thinly slicing them and simply tossing into the tabbouleh.

Collard rolls with raw parsnip tabbouleh
Makes 12-20 rolls

Ingredients
1 parsnip (about 10 oz), diced
1/4 c. walnuts
1 oz fresh parsley, chopped
juice of one lemon
6 oz cherry tomatoes, halved
salt, to taste
12-20 collard green leaves, tough central stem removed

Method

1. In a food processor fitted with the metal S-blade, blend the parsnip and walnuts until approximately the consistency of rice. Add the parsley and lemon and blend for another 5-10 seconds. Remove mixture from food processor, stir in the tomatoes, and salt to taste.

2. Place the collard greens in a microwave safe bowl and cover with a plate. Microwave on high power for 1 minute, greens should become wilted.

3. To make the rolls: Lay a collard leaf flat on a cutting board. Place 1-2 small spoonfuls of tabbouleh at one end of the leaf. Roll the leaf around the filling, tucking in the edges as you go. If leaves are especially narrow, use two leaves per wrap and make sure they overlap well when laying them on the cutting board.

Serve with hummus to dip.

6 thoughts on “Collard wraps with raw parsnip tabbouleh

    1. Oooh, yes, picnic-possible for certain. That reminds me I should have more proper picnic lunches this summer, not just this business of finding a bench near the office.

Leave a Reply

